The chemicals industry is in a state of flux that continues to bring market uncertainty to one of the globes most important sectors. In times like these it is vital that leaders within our industry rise to meet the challenge of an increasingly unsure future.

To ensure that those spearheading the way forward are recognised for their efforts in securing a brighter tomorrow, The Chemists’ Club and ICIS have partnered to bring back the ICIS Kavaler Award. Winners of the awards will be highlighted for their outstanding achievements, as voted for by their peers.


The Chemists’ Club Kavaler Award, sponsored by ICIS has been presented to Amin Nasser, President and CEO of Saudi Aramco.

ICIS Experts, members of the top 40 power players and fellow industry professionals joined the presentation of this year’s award (on 3 December 2020, 10am EST / 3pm GMT / 6pm AST). The presentation followed by a rare interview with Mr. Nasser, in which he provided insights into the workings of the current chemicals market.

Watch full video here>

“Saudi Aramco CEO Amin Nasser has made huge advances in petrochemicals with the $69bn acquisition of SABIC, the construction of mega projects worldwide and the ongoing development of crude oil-to-chemicals technology,” said Joseph Chang, global editor of ICIS Chemical Business.

“The level of project activity for Aramco is unprecedented for any company. Its global ambitions and investments in petrochemicals will create waves in the industry for years to come,” he added.


Selecting one individual to receive this award involved the top players in our community coming together, to achieve this ICIS and The Chemists’ Club invited each of the ICIS Top 40 Power Players to vote for their winner.

The award not only recognises the financial achievements of the winning executive, but also shines a light on those in our industry who are looking to the future and are reinventing the way we work.

Nominations are based on newsworthy achievement in one or more of the following categories:

Profitability/shareholder value

Mergers and acquisitions

Projects/capital investment

Innovation - technology, product, business process with an impact on industry and society


  • 2020 – Amin H. Nasser, Saudi Aramco
  • 2019 – Bob Patel, LyondellBasell
  • 2018 – Bob Patel, LyondellBasell
  • 2017 – Kurt Bock, BASF
  • 2016 – Jim Radcliffe, INEOS
  • 2015 – Andrew Liveris, Dow Chemical
  • 2014 – Jim Gallogly, LyondellBasell
  • 2013 – Charles Bunch, PPG



The award is a revival of the Kavaler Award which was presented by Chemical Market Reporter to leading chemical CEOs from 1990 to 1999, including Jon Huntsman Sr., founder, Chairman and CEO of Huntsman, Frank Popoff, Chairman and CEO of Dow Chemical, and Robert Kennedy, Chairman of Union Carbide.

The award is named in honour of Arthur Kavaler, who served for 46 years as reporter, editor and eventually publisher and editor-in-chief of Chemical Market Reporter, – one of the three publications incorporated into ICIS Chemical Business – passed away at the age of 91 on January 18, 2012. Kavaler, a probing reporter and an editor with unwavering conviction, had a major impact on chemical industry journalism.