BASF chairman, Kurt Bock, wins the 2017 ICIS Kavaler Award

05 June 2017 11:11 Source:ICIS Chemical Business

The 2017 ICIS Kavaler Award, sponsored by The Chemists’ Club, and in association with The Valence Group, will be awarded to Kurt Bock, chairman of the board of executive directors of BASF, for outstanding achievement as voted on and recognized by his peers.

This prestigious and unique global chemical industry award will be presented to Kurt Bock at a black tie dinner ceremony on Tuesday, October 3, 2017, at the Metropolitan Club of New York, in New York City.


BASF CEO Kurt Bock has been recognised by his peers

The winner of the ICIS Kavaler Award is selected by his/her peers – the senior executives of the ICIS Top 40 Power Players listing – a global ranking of the leaders making the greatest positive impact on their companies and the chemical industry published in ICIS Chemical Business magazine.

“With the ‘We create chemistry’ strategy, BASF set the path to strengthen its leading position as an integrated global chemical company. We want to contribute to a sustainable future and are guided by this purpose,” said Kurt Bock. “This award recognizes our efforts and contribution, and I am proud to accept this award on behalf of all employees at BASF.”

“Kurt Bock has kept a steady hand on the world’s largest chemical company through challenging economic cycles and major structural changes in the global chemical industry, making disciplined investments and portfolio adjustments to position the firm for optimal performance,” said Joseph Chang, global editor of ICIS Chemical Business.

In the award selection process, ICIS and The Chemists’ Club invited each of the ICIS Top 40 Power Players in the 2016 ranking to vote for three individuals on the ballot, based on newsworthy achievement in one or more of the following categories:

  • Profitability/shareholder value
  • Mergers and acquisitions (deals or integration)
  • Projects/capital investment
  • Innovation (technology, product, business process) with an impact on industry and society.

Previous winners of the ICIS Kavaler Award include INEOS chairman Jim Ratcliffe (2016), Dow Chemical CEO Andrew Liveris (2015), former LyondellBasell CEO Jim Gallogly (2014) and former PPG Industries CEO Charles Bunch (2013).

For more information on the ICIS Kavaler Award, please contact Bernard Petersen at ICIS,, (+1) 646-961-0708 or Roland Stefandl at The Chemists’ Club,, (+1) 201-888-0440.

Please take part in our short survey on your use of petrochemicals pricing, news and analytics. 


By Staff Reporter